Welcome to our new website – explore our projects, news and member resources.
Skip to content


Riverine Plains to partner in Drought Hubs

Riverine Plains is playing an important role in two of the Federal Government’s Drought Resilience Adoption and Innovation Hubs being established in North East Victoria and Southern NSW.

Riverine Plains will play an important role in two of the Federal Government’s Drought Resilience Adoption and Innovation Hubs being established in North East Victoria and Southern NSW.

The Hubs are being established through the Australian Government’s $5 billion Future Drought Fund and will focus on addressing drought resilience research and innovation priorities. Each Hub will receive $8 million over four years, with the Hubs anticipated to be up and running by the end of April.

Riverine Plains will lead the North East node of the Victoria Drought Resilience Adoption and Innovation Hub, to be established by the University of Melbourne at Dookie, and will also partner in the southern NSW Hub being established at Wagga Wagga by Charles Sturt University.

The Hubs will work by connecting farmers, industry and researchers, with the resulting collaborations helping to drive development of innovative on-farm R&D technologies and practices that can improve future drought resilience, as well as their on-farm adoption.

It is planned that the Hubs will offer resources, including staff and programs, across areas such as water management, food security, farming systems, agribusiness, community support, regional development and environment, delivering improved drought resilience and greater adaptation to a changing climate for farmers, agricultural businesses and communities.

The Victorian Hub will be led by the University of Melbourne Dookie campus, in partnership with Deakin University, Federation University, La Trobe University, Agriculture Victoria, Riverine Plains, Birchip Cropping Group, Southern Farming Systems, Food and Fibre Gippsland and Mallee Regional Innovation Centre. Hub nodes will be established in Mulwala, Mildura, Birchip, Inverleigh and Warragul.

The southern NSW hub will be led by Charles Sturt University (CSU) at Wagga Wagga, with partners; the Australian National University, Farming Systems Groups Alliance, First Nations Governance Circle, Local Land Services, NSW Department of Primary Industries, Rural Aid, University of Canberra and University of Wollongong. The Farming Systems Group Alliance includes Riverine Plains, FarmLink Research, Central West Farming Systems, Holbrook Landcare Network, Irrigated Cropping Council, Irrigation Research and Extension Committee and Southern Growers.

For further information, please contact the Riverine Plains office on 03 5477 1713.


Michelle Pardy
Communications Manager Bachelor of Agricultural Science

22 April 2021



Catch up on our latest project and event news.

Choosing a nitrogen strategy
Youth in Ag: GRAZE 2024
Using dry sowing as a tool to manage risk
Preventing herbicide resistance from reducing your grain yields
Sykesy’s Buraja Meeting back for 2024
Riverine Plains celebrates World Soil Day
Ladies Luncheon 2023
The Riverine Plains GrainGrowers Ladies Luncheon
2023 Riverine Plains scholarship program recipients
Riverine Plains announces new CEO, Pip Grant